Q&A: X-ray Safety Course...

Please email us with any unanswered questions...

  1. Which course do I need?  In any healthcare role you must complete the six-hour Medical, Veterinary, or Dental Course. If you operate an x-ray machine in a NON-healthcare industry like food handling, airport baggage inspection, etc. then you just need the two-hour NON-Healthcare Course.
  2. What does the course involve?  There are 4 narrated video lectures online, as well as reading assignments. A post-course exam helps evaluate what you learn.
  3. Why should I take YOUR course?  Our State-recognized online x-ray safety certification is fresh and up-to-date. This course is facilitated by Dr. Rick Waters, who has taught x-ray safety since 1997. The material is specially designed to be easy to complete. We offer the option of a gold foil parchment Certificate of Completion that is suitable for framing.
  4. Is the course timed?  Better than that... You start and stop, log in & out, and work at your own pace. Take your time. We want you to enjoy and learn -- not be stressed out.
  5. Who can be certified by this course?  IN GEORGIA: Dental, Medical, and Veterinary Assistants. Plus, industrial x-ray machine operators. IN SOUTH CAROLINA: Dental Assistants only... Order your South Carolina course HERE.
  6. Why do I have to take this course?  It's the LAW...
  7. Hardly anybody uses films and processors any more. Why is it in the course? We hear this often: It's required by law. Your certification is good forever in any office; so, with it, if a new employer uses films and processors, you'll be certified and good-to-go.
  8. Is this State-approved?  Yes... This course 100% fulfills your State's requirements to operate an x-ray machine. Call your state's dental or medical association to verify, if needed. This course is facilitated by intelliDENT solutions, inc. -- a CERP Recognized Provider of Continuing Education by The American Dental Association. Visit the link for verification.
  9. Is this a classroom course?  Even better... The course is taught using memorable entertaining video lectures that help you learn. There are also reading assignments, a post-assessment (required in South Carolina), and several helpful short videos. You take the course at your own pace.
  10. Do I have to start right away?  You can begin whenever you want and take as long as you need. You have 24/7 access to come and go. Remember, state law says you should begin the course within 30 days after employment and complete it no later than 90 days after employment and that x-ray machines should be "operated only by individuals instructed in safe operating procedures." 
  11. Will I get a Certificate of Completion?  YES! Law requires providing it upon request by site inspectors. Your Certificate of Completion is either emailed to you the day you register and pay for your course or, if you select the paper Certificate option, it is mailed the next day.
  12. Where is my Certificate?  See http://georgiaxray-com.doodlekit.com/home/certificates_of_completion
  13. Can just anyone take this course?  YES... While anyone who operates an x-ray machine (i.e., dental assistants, nurses, and medical assistants, etc) must complete safety training (i.e., six hours in the "healing arts"), people interested in working in healthcare can take this course before getting hired. It makes them a more attractive job prospect. NO PRIOR TRAINING, EDUCATION, OR SKILLS ARE REQUIRED.
  14. How often do x-ray machine operators have to take this course?  State law requires this course be completed just one time. If you lose your Certificate you may have to repeat it, so take care of your Certificate of Completion as if it were a passport, etc.
  15. What is the cost?  The one-time cost is just $119 per Georgia Course registrant and $159 for South Carolina. Your Certification has no expiration date and can be used from job-to-job anywhere in your state.
  16. Can I complete it over a period of days or weeks?  YES... You can log in and log out as much as you like. We provide a convenient checklist for you to print out and use to keep track of what you've accomplished.
  17. How long do I have to complete the course?  You have as long as needed to complete all of the assignments, but remember that state law recommends starting the training within 30 days of hire and finishing it within 90 days. We give you 30 days to complete the 6 hours of material. If you need to renew access, just email us.
  18. Does this course cover what State law requires?  YES... We've taught this material since 1997 to thousands of x-ray machine operators. The material covered is exactly what each State's law requires.
  19. Do I need anything special to take the course?  Just a computer with high-speed access to the Internet.
  20. Can I get help during the course, if needed?  YES...We are available by phone or email 24/7 during the course. Contact information, including a phone number, is available to registered users after logging in.
  21. Is there a mandatory exam?  "Yes" in South Carolina by law. In Georgia it is optional.
  22. I am out-of-state and moving into your state. Can I transfer my current Certification?  We get asked this often. The answer is "MAYBE" ... But a firm "YES" ONLY if your Certification comes by graduating from a year-long ADA CODA-approved formal dental assisting program that explicitly states you completed six hours of radiation safety training. Keep in mind that most dentists are not aware of this and may still insist you have their state's x-ray safety certification. Most transferees elect to do our course simply to avoid risking not getting hired! See what your State requirements were and compare them to here by going to http://www.danb.org/en/Meet-State-Requirements.aspx.
  23. I need to fill in the name on my Certificate.   If your Certificate was not pre-filled with your name, you can download this WORD DOCUMENT that is formatted to place your name on the Certificate exactly in the correct place. Be sure to test it with a blank sheet of paper first to make certain the Certificate is oriented properly in the printer and not upside down!
  24. Will I need an update?  Not yet. But The National Council on Radiation Protection (NCRP) is making changes that will eventually add some new content AND may require everyone in an office that using x-ray to complete some radiation safety training by late in 2018 or early 2019.
  25. Will this course wok on a Mac computer?  Yes, but NOT on an iPad/iPod/iPhone/etc. See this page: http://georgiaxray-com.doodlekit.com/home/mac-or-windows
  26. Still have a question?  EMAIL Dr. Waters at drh20s@gmail.com...
powered by Doodlekit™ Free Website Maker